Town of Mead, Colorado Sign Code & Sign Permit Guide
Wall, monument, and freestanding sign limits for Town of Mead by zoning
district — cited to the exact code section, with the sign permit process. Every
number is checked against the published code text before it ships.
Residential (RSF-E, RSF-1, RSF-4, RMF-8, RMF-14) & Agricultural (AG)
Zones like RSF-E
Table 7.11(1)/(2) and Table 7.12(1) merge Residential and Agricultural into one column throughout §16-7-110 and §16-7-120 — verified via Municode's expanded table view.
20% of signable area
Wall area
Not allowed
Projecting/roof signs
8-line rule (continuous polygon, up to 8 straight sides): Sign area is a continuous polygon with up to 8 straight sides that completely encloses the sign's text and graphics, plus any integral frame/background. Multi-faced signs: one face measured if 2 faces are parallel or ≤30° apart on the same structure (larger face if unequal); all faces summed if 3+ faces or if 2 faces exceed a 30° interior angle.
Wall Sign
Table 7.11(1)
| Maximum number | 1 per principal building (if no fascia sign); 1 per dwelling unit for duplexes. |
|---|
| Maximum area | Single-family/duplex: 2 sf. All other principal uses: 20% of signable area. |
|---|
| Additional standards | Backlit cabinet signs not allowed. |
|---|
Fascia Sign
Table 7.11(1)
| Maximum number | 1 per principal nonresidential building (if no wall sign). |
|---|
| Maximum area | 25% of signable area. |
|---|
| Additional standards | Cabinet signs not allowed. |
|---|
Window Sign
Table 7.11(1)
| Maximum number | 1 per window. |
|---|
| Maximum area | 1.5 sf. |
|---|
Awning / Bracket Sign
Table 7.11(2)
| Awning — maximum number | 1 per principal nonresidential building, over the principal entrance. |
|---|
| Awning — maximum area | 40% of signable area. |
|---|
| Bracket — maximum number | 1 per principal nonresidential building entrance. |
|---|
| Bracket — maximum area | 5 sf. |
|---|
| Projecting / Roof signs | Not allowed. |
|---|
Detached (Freestanding) Sign
Table 7.12(1)
| Maximum number | 1 per entrance to a residential subdivision or agricultural use on a parcel >5 acres. |
|---|
| Maximum area | 32 sf. |
|---|
| Maximum height | 6 ft. |
|---|
| Setback | 1 ft from front property line +1 ft per 2 ft of height above 4 ft; 100 ft from other primary detached signs; side/rear setback = sign height. |
|---|
| Secondary detached signs | Not allowed for single-family/duplex; other uses in these districts follow the Commercial/Industrial standards. |
|---|
| Landscaping | Required landscaped area extending ≥3 ft in all directions from the sign base (or a pedestrian plaza). |
|---|
See the exact numbers
Height, setback, area, count, and lighting limits for Residential (RSF-E, RSF-1, RSF-4, RMF-8, RMF-14) & Agricultural (AG) —
cited to the code section, ready to quote from.
Get notified at launch
Downtown Mixed-Use (DMU)
Zones like DMU
Table 7.11(1)/(2) and Table 7.12(1), verified via Municode's expanded table view. DMU shares its column with the geographic 'Welker Corridor' overlay in every table (§16-7-110/120 Table Note 1) — not itself a zone code, and not live-detectable, so DMU is authored as-is (its own standards already assume Welker-equivalent treatment).
30–100% of signable area
Wall area
tiered by frontage, corridor-dependent
Detached area
1 per parcel
Detached number
1 sf/2 lf of elevation
Projecting
8-line rule (continuous polygon, up to 8 straight sides): Sign area is a continuous polygon with up to 8 straight sides that completely encloses the sign's text and graphics, plus any integral frame/background. Multi-faced signs: one face measured if 2 faces are parallel or ≤30° apart on the same structure (larger face if unequal); all faces summed if 3+ faces or if 2 faces exceed a 30° interior angle.
Wall Sign
Table 7.11(1)
| Maximum number | 2 per building elevation + 1 per primary public entrance. |
|---|
| Maximum area — large signable area | Painted/applied signs on signable area >10×10 ft: 70%. |
|---|
| Maximum area — side elevations | Painted/applied signs on SIDE elevations: up to 100% of signable area. |
|---|
| Maximum area — other wall signs | 1 sign up to 40%, additional signs up to 30% of signable area. |
|---|
Fascia Sign
Table 7.11(1)
| Maximum number | May substitute for a permissible wall sign. |
|---|
| Maximum area | 35% of signable area (shared cap across all signs on one fascia). |
|---|
| Alternative configuration | May sit above the eave line if the roof structure is subordinate/lower, sign height ≤ fascia's vertical dimension, composed of channel letters/sculpted elements, supports hidden from view. |
|---|
Window Sign
Table 7.11(1)
| Maximum number | Not limited. |
|---|
| Maximum area | 25% of the area of each window. |
|---|
Projecting Sign
Table 7.11(2)
| Maximum area — 1 sign | 1 sf per 2 lf of front building elevation width. |
|---|
| Maximum area — 2+ signs | 1 sf per 4 lf of front elevation width (each sign). |
|---|
| Spacing | ≥20 ft from other projecting signs; ≥8 ft clearance over pedestrian areas. |
|---|
| DMU-only allowance | "Projecting signs" includes a single rotating striped cylindrical pole ≤36 in long (barber pole). |
|---|
Awning / Bracket / Roof Sign
Table 7.11(2)
| Awning — maximum area | 60% of signable area; must shelter a window/door/seating area. |
|---|
| Bracket — maximum area | 6 sf; may substitute for a projecting sign. |
|---|
| Roof — maximum number | 1 per property, flat roofs only, ≤4 ft above parapet. |
|---|
| Roof — maximum area | Lesser of 100 sf or 50% of front elevation width × 4. |
|---|
Detached (Freestanding) Sign
Table 7.12(1)
| Maximum number | 1 per parcel. |
|---|
| Maximum area (non-corridor) | Not stated in the code for DMU — confirm with the Town. |
|---|
| Maximum area (I-25 corridor) | Up to 300 sf (multiple tenants) / 200 sf (single tenant). |
|---|
| Maximum area (Hwy 66 corridor) | Up to 175 sf (multiple tenants) / 125 sf (single tenant). |
|---|
| Maximum height | 15 ft, +25 ft (I-25 frontage) or +5 ft (Hwy 66 frontage). |
|---|
| Secondary detached sign | 1 per vehicular entrance, 6 sf, 4 ft height. |
|---|
Electronic Message Centers
§16-7-90
| Permitted on | Detached signs, projecting signs, cabinet wall signs, window signs (EMC only). |
|---|
| Maximum area | 90% of a detached sign; lesser of 12 sf or 45% of a projecting/cabinet-wall sign; 6 sf for a window sign. |
|---|
| Setback from residential | ≥100 ft if the display angle makes it visible from a single-family/duplex property. |
|---|
| Pixel pitch | ≤16 mm generally (19 mm Hwy 66-facing, 25 mm I-25-facing). |
|---|
| Brightness | Auto-dimming required, ≤12% of daytime brightness at night. |
|---|
See the exact numbers
Height, setback, area, count, and lighting limits for Downtown Mixed-Use (DMU) —
cited to the code section, ready to quote from.
Get notified at launch
Before you submit- DMU's own non-corridor fallback cap for detached-sign area is not stated in §16-7-120 — the code names only GC/HC/LI for the 100 sf non-corridor fallback. Confirm with the Town before quoting a detached sign area for a DMU parcel not clearly on the mapped I-25/Hwy 66 corridors.
Commercial (GC, HC) & Industrial (LI)
Zones like GC
Table 7.11(1)/(2) and Table 7.12(1), verified via Municode's expanded table view — Commercial and Industrial share every cell in these tables.
30–70% of signable area
Wall area
1 sf/2 lf, then 1 sf/4 lf, cap 100 sf
Detached area
1 per frontage
Detached number
1 sf/2 lf of elevation
Projecting
8-line rule (continuous polygon, up to 8 straight sides): Sign area is a continuous polygon with up to 8 straight sides that completely encloses the sign's text and graphics, plus any integral frame/background. Multi-faced signs: one face measured if 2 faces are parallel or ≤30° apart on the same structure (larger face if unequal); all faces summed if 3+ faces or if 2 faces exceed a 30° interior angle.
Wall Sign
Table 7.11(1)
| Maximum number | 2 per building elevation + 1 per primary public entrance. |
|---|
| Maximum area — large signable area | Painted/applied signs on signable area >10×10 ft: 70%. |
|---|
| Maximum area — bulletin boards | 6 sf. |
|---|
| Maximum area — other wall signs | 1 sign up to 40%, additional signs up to 30% of signable area. |
|---|
Fascia Sign
Table 7.11(1)
| Maximum number | May substitute for a permissible wall sign. |
|---|
| Maximum area | 35% of signable area (shared cap across all signs on one fascia). |
|---|
Window Sign
Table 7.11(1)
| Maximum number | Not limited. |
|---|
| Maximum area | 25% of each window, or 100% on a South/West elevation if signs are perforated window decals. |
|---|
Projecting Sign
Table 7.11(2)
| Maximum area — 1 sign | 1 sf per 2 lf of front building elevation width. |
|---|
| Maximum area — 2+ signs | 1 sf per 4 lf of front elevation width (each sign). |
|---|
| Spacing | ≥20 ft from other projecting signs; ≥8 ft clearance over pedestrian areas. |
|---|
Awning / Bracket / Roof Sign
Table 7.11(2)
| Awning — maximum area | 60% of signable area; must shelter a window/door/seating area. |
|---|
| Bracket — maximum area | 6 sf; may substitute for a projecting sign. |
|---|
| Roof — maximum number | 1 per property, flat roofs only, ≤4 ft above parapet. |
|---|
| Roof — maximum area | Lesser of 100 sf or 50% of front elevation width × 4. |
|---|
Detached (Freestanding) Sign
Table 7.12(1)
| Maximum number | 1 per frontage. |
|---|
| Maximum area | 1 sf per 2 lf of frontage for the first 100 ft, then 1 sf per 4 lf, capped at 100 sf (not on a state highway corridor). |
|---|
| Maximum height | 15 ft, +25 ft (I-25 frontage) or +5 ft (Hwy 66 frontage). |
|---|
| Setback | 1 ft from front property line +1 ft per 2 ft of height above 4 ft; 100 ft from other primary detached signs; side/rear setback = sign height. |
|---|
| Secondary detached sign | 1 per vehicular entrance, 8 sf, 4 ft height. |
|---|
Electronic Message Centers
§16-7-90
| Permitted on | Detached signs, projecting signs, cabinet wall signs, window signs (EMC only). |
|---|
| Maximum area | 90% of a detached sign; lesser of 12 sf or 45% of a projecting/cabinet-wall sign; 6 sf for a window sign. |
|---|
| Setback from residential | ≥100 ft if the display angle makes it visible from a single-family/duplex property. |
|---|
| Pixel pitch | ≤16 mm generally (19 mm Hwy 66-facing, 25 mm I-25-facing). |
|---|
| Brightness | Auto-dimming required, ≤12% of daytime brightness at night. |
|---|
See the exact numbers
Height, setback, area, count, and lighting limits for Commercial (GC, HC) & Industrial (LI) —
cited to the code section, ready to quote from.
Get notified at launch
Before you submit- I-25 and Highway 66 corridor bonuses for detached-sign area/height (up to 3x the base area, up to +25 ft height) are real but NOT auto-applied — Sightline has no live way to detect corridor membership. Confirm with the Town if the site is within 1/4 mile of I-25 or Hwy 66.
Sign permits in Town of Mead
Town of Mead Community Development Division — 970-535-4477; building permits via SAFEbuilt (Tim Moroney, 970-545-3555, tmoroney@safebuilt.com)
Town of Mead sign code FAQ
What is the sign code for Town of Mead, Colorado?
Town of Mead's sign regulations are set by Ch. 16 Art. VII Sign Code · Municode, and vary by zoning district. Sightline tracks 3 verified zone families for Town of Mead below, each with wall, freestanding, and other sign-type limits cited to the exact section.
Do I need a permit for a sign in Town of Mead?
In nearly every Colorado municipality, including Town of Mead, permanent signs — wall signs, channel letters, cabinets, monument signs — require a sign permit. Town of Mead's permit process is linked below. Always confirm with the authority having jurisdiction before finalizing a design.
Look up an exact address in Town of Mead
Get the live zoning district and the sign limits that apply to a specific parcel,
with a frontage calculator and a permit-ready citation.
Get notified at launch