Adams County, Colorado Sign Code & Sign Permit Guide
Wall, monument, and freestanding sign limits for Adams County by zoning district — cited to the exact code section, with the sign permit process. Every number is checked against the published code text before it ships.
Commercial & Industrial (C-0, C-1, C-2, I-1, I-2, I-3, NP, RP)
Zones like C-0
§4-17-06-04-02 (Freestanding) and §4-17-06-05-02 (Building-Mounted) name these zones together for both height/area figures.
Sum of smallest enclosing rectangles: Sign area is the sum of the smallest rectangle(s) enclosing the sign copy (and its background, if distinctively treated). Individual letters/graphics against an untreated wall get a separate rectangle per word/graphic, summed. An illuminated surface or element counts in full, not just its lettering.
Freestanding Sign
§4-17-06-04-02| Maximum number | 1 sign for 0–499 ft of street frontage; +1 additional for 500 ft+ of street frontage. |
|---|---|
| Maximum height | 24 ft. |
| Maximum area | 100 sf. |
| Setback | 15 ft, or the sign's height, from any side/rear lot line, whichever is greater (front setback not confirmed — confirm with the county). |
| Landscaping | Required living-material landscaped base, spacing ≤3 ft on center. |
| Clearance | No projection over any sidewalk, private drive, parking lot, or public road. |
Building-Mounted Sign
§4-17-06-05-02| Maximum number | 1 per frontage or commercial/industrial user. |
|---|---|
| Maximum area | 5% of the building wall area the sign is mounted on. |
| Placement | Not above the cornice line. |
| Clearance | 9 ft over sidewalk/drive/parking lot; 12 ft over a public road. |
| Small projecting/suspended exception | Signs extending <4 ft, hung ≥6 in from the building, clearing the sidewalk by ≥8 ft, don't count against the sign-count limit (still count against area). |
Electronic Message Centers
§4-17-06-03| Permitted on | Incorporated into a permanent freestanding or permanent wall sign only. |
|---|---|
| Message hold time | ≥4 seconds minimum (10 seconds optimal). |
| Transitions | Instantaneous only — no animation, video, scrolling, or audible sound. |
| Brightness | ≤0.3 foot-candles over ambient, with required auto-dimming. |
See the exact numbers
Height, setback, area, count, and lighting limits for Commercial & Industrial (C-0, C-1, C-2, I-1, I-2, I-3, NP, RP) — cited to the code section, ready to quote from.
Get notified at launchC-3, C-4, C-5 (higher-intensity commercial)
Zones like C-3
§4-17-06-04-02 names C-3/C-4/C-5 in the 24 ft freestanding-HEIGHT group but omits them from both freestanding-AREA groups entirely; §4-17-06-05-02 gives them their own distinct 15% building-mounted rate, higher than every other group.
Sum of smallest enclosing rectangles: Sign area is the sum of the smallest rectangle(s) enclosing the sign copy (and its background, if distinctively treated). Individual letters/graphics against an untreated wall get a separate rectangle per word/graphic, summed.
Freestanding Sign
§4-17-06-04-02| Maximum number | 1 sign for 0–499 ft of street frontage; +1 additional for 500 ft+ of street frontage. |
|---|---|
| Maximum height | 24 ft. |
| Maximum area | Not stated in the code for these zones — confirm with the county. |
| Setback | 15 ft, or the sign's height, from any side/rear lot line, whichever is greater (front setback not confirmed). |
| Landscaping | Required living-material landscaped base, spacing ≤3 ft on center. |
Building-Mounted Sign
§4-17-06-05-02| Maximum number | 1 per frontage or commercial/industrial user. |
|---|---|
| Maximum area | 15% of the building wall area the sign is mounted on — the highest building-mounted allowance of any group. |
| Placement | Not above the cornice line. |
| Clearance | 9 ft over sidewalk/drive/parking lot; 12 ft over a public road. |
Electronic Message Centers
§4-17-06-03| Permitted on | Incorporated into a permanent freestanding or permanent wall sign only. |
|---|---|
| Message hold time | ≥4 seconds minimum (10 seconds optimal). |
| Transitions | Instantaneous only. |
| Brightness | ≤0.3 foot-candles over ambient, with required auto-dimming. |
See the exact numbers
Height, setback, area, count, and lighting limits for C-3, C-4, C-5 (higher-intensity commercial) — cited to the code section, ready to quote from.
Get notified at launch- Freestanding sign AREA is not stated anywhere in §4-17-06-04-02 for these three zones — confirm with the county before quoting a freestanding sign here. Height (24 ft) and building-mounted area (15%) ARE stated and shown below.
Agricultural (A-1, A-2, A-3)
Zones like A-1
§4-17-06-04-02 groups A-1/A-2/A-3 with the RESIDENTIAL zones for freestanding height (12 ft) but with the COMMERCIAL/INDUSTRIAL zones for freestanding area (100 sf) — a short-but-wide allowance unique to this group. §4-17-06-05-02 groups them with commercial/industrial for building-mounted area (5%).
Sum of smallest enclosing rectangles: Sign area is the sum of the smallest rectangle(s) enclosing the sign copy (and its background, if distinctively treated). Individual letters/graphics against an untreated wall get a separate rectangle per word/graphic, summed.
Freestanding Sign
§4-17-06-04-02| Maximum number | 1 sign for 0–499 ft of street frontage; +1 additional for 500 ft+ of street frontage. |
|---|---|
| Maximum height | 12 ft. |
| Maximum area | 100 sf. |
| Setback | 15 ft, or the sign's height, from any side/rear lot line, whichever is greater (front setback not confirmed). |
| Landscaping | Required living-material landscaped base, spacing ≤3 ft on center. |
Building-Mounted Sign
§4-17-06-05-02| Maximum number | 1 per frontage or commercial/industrial user. |
|---|---|
| Maximum area | 5% of the building wall area the sign is mounted on. |
| Placement | Not above the cornice line. |
| Clearance | 9 ft over sidewalk/drive/parking lot; 12 ft over a public road. |
Electronic Message Centers
§4-17-06-03| Permitted on | Incorporated into a permanent freestanding or permanent wall sign only. |
|---|---|
| Message hold time | ≥4 seconds minimum (10 seconds optimal). |
| Transitions | Instantaneous only. |
| Brightness | ≤0.3 foot-candles over ambient, with required auto-dimming. |
See the exact numbers
Height, setback, area, count, and lighting limits for Agricultural (A-1, A-2, A-3) — cited to the code section, ready to quote from.
Get notified at launchResidential & Low-Intensity (R-E, R-1-A, R-1-C, R-2, R-3, R-4, M-H, NA, CO, PL)
Zones like R-E
§4-17-06-04-02 (Freestanding) and §4-17-06-05-02 (Building-Mounted) name these ten zones together for both figures — the only group with a FLAT building-mounted cap (40 sf) instead of a wall-area percentage.
Sum of smallest enclosing rectangles: Sign area is the sum of the smallest rectangle(s) enclosing the sign copy (and its background, if distinctively treated). Individual letters/graphics against an untreated wall get a separate rectangle per word/graphic, summed.
Freestanding Sign
§4-17-06-04-02| Maximum number | 1 sign for 0–499 ft of street frontage; +1 additional for 500 ft+ of street frontage. |
|---|---|
| Maximum height | 12 ft. |
| Maximum area | 40 sf. |
| Setback | 15 ft, or the sign's height, from any side/rear lot line, whichever is greater (front setback not confirmed). |
| Landscaping | Required living-material landscaped base, spacing ≤3 ft on center. |
Subdivision / Neighborhood Identification Sign
§4-17-06-04-02| Maximum area | 40 sf. |
|---|---|
| Maximum height | 12 ft. |
| Setback | 8 ft minimum from the front property line; side/rear setback equal to the sign's height. |
| Spacing | Signs on the same road/highway side must be ≥1,320 linear ft apart. |
| Material | Brick or Director-approved material, in an area with an adopted Adams County Neighborhood Plan. |
| Maintenance | Maintained by an HOA, lot-owners association, or other County-approved management entity. |
Building-Mounted Sign
§4-17-06-05-02| Maximum number | 1 per frontage or commercial/industrial user. |
|---|---|
| Maximum area | 40 sf flat (not a wall-area percentage, unlike every other group). |
| Placement | Not above the cornice line. |
| Clearance | 9 ft over sidewalk/drive/parking lot; 12 ft over a public road. |
Electronic Message Centers
§4-17-06-03| Permitted on | Incorporated into a permanent freestanding or permanent wall sign only. |
|---|---|
| Message hold time | ≥4 seconds minimum (10 seconds optimal). |
| Transitions | Instantaneous only. |
| Brightness | ≤0.3 foot-candles over ambient, with required auto-dimming. |
See the exact numbers
Height, setback, area, count, and lighting limits for Residential & Low-Intensity (R-E, R-1-A, R-1-C, R-2, R-3, R-4, M-H, NA, CO, PL) — cited to the code section, ready to quote from.
Get notified at launchSign permits in Adams County
Adams County Community and Economic Development Department — 720-523-6800, cedd-plan@adamscountyco.gov
Adams County sign code FAQ
What is the sign code for Adams County, Colorado?
Adams County's sign regulations are set by §4-17 Signs · Adams County Development Standards, and vary by zoning district. Sightline tracks 4 verified zone families for Adams County below, each with wall, freestanding, and other sign-type limits cited to the exact section.
Do I need a permit for a sign in Adams County?
In nearly every Colorado municipality, including Adams County, permanent signs — wall signs, channel letters, cabinets, monument signs — require a sign permit. Adams County's permit process is linked below. Always confirm with the authority having jurisdiction before finalizing a design.
Look up an exact address in Adams County
Get the live zoning district and the sign limits that apply to a specific parcel, with a frontage calculator and a permit-ready citation.
Get notified at launch